Prairie Mountain Health

Prairie Mountain Health was officially formed in June 2012, following the Manitoba government amalgamation of the former regional health authorities of Assiniboine, Brandon and Parkland. It is one of five regional health authorities in the province.

The region covers a geographically large area, around 67 000 sq. kilometers. It runs east-west from Saskatchewan/Manitoba border communities like Benito, Elkhorn and Russell to Waterhen Lake, Lake Manitoba and Treherne. From north-south, the region runs from the 53rd parallel close to Dawson Bay right down to the United States border near communities like Melita, Deloraine, Boissevain, Killarney and Cartwright.

The population of the region is over 169 000, around 12.9% of the Manitoba population. It is made up of 55 municipalities, which include the cities of Brandon and Dauphin. There are 14 First Nation Band councils/communities, 15 Northern Affairs community councils and 30 Hutterite colonies/communities.

In Prairie Mountain Health, there are 20 acute care sites, 43 long term care sites, nine (9) transitional care sites, six (6) primary health care centres and 38 emergency medical service (ambulance) facilities. There are also seven (7) community cancer programs with regional cancer care hubs in Brandon and Dauphin and support programs in Deloraine, Hamiota, Neepawa, Russell and Swan River.

There are over 8 500 employees of Prairie Mountain Health whom together, provide a broad continuum of health programs and services, including community health.

The region also works alongside a number of affiliate (non-devolved) facilities, by means of operating agreements, which include:

  • The Dinsdale Personal Care Home
  • Dr. Gendreau Personal Care Home (Ste. Rose)
  • Gilbert Plains EMS (ambulance)
  • St. Paul’s Home (Dauphin)
  • Ste. Rose General Hospital
  • Winnipegosis District Health Centre

Hillcrest Personal Care Home and Valleyview Personal Care Home in Brandon are proprietary (for profit) personal care homes and are currently funded through the Winnipeg Regional Health Authority.

The region is designated as a provincial bilingual health authority, in accordance with French Language Services legislation and guidelines. For more information visit Prairie Mountain Health Region or contact us.

Additional resources:

Prairie Mountain Health Map

Skip to content